5 Types of Restlessness

Now let us examine the types of restlessness and its remedies. There are five types of restlessness:

The first is due to the place you are in. When you move away from certain places, streets or houses, you immediately feel better. Chanting, singing, or the innocence of children playing and laughing can change this atmospheric restlessness. If you chant and sing, the vibration in the place changes.

The second type of restlessness is in the body. Eating the wrong food, Vata-aggravating food, eating at odd times, not exercising, and overworking can all cause physical restlessness. The remedy for this is exercise, moderation in work habits and a one to two day vegetable or juice diet.

The third type of restlessness is mental restlessness. It is caused by ambition, strong thoughts, likes or dislikes. Knowledge alone can cure this restlessness; this includes seeing life from a broader perspective, knowing about the Self and realizing the impermanence of everything. If you achieve everything, so what? After your achievement, you will die. Knowledge of your death or life, confidence in the Self and in the Divine can all calm down mental restlessness.

There is also emotional restlessness. Any amount of knowledge does not help here. Sudarshan Kriya helps! All that emotional restlessness vanishes. Also the presence of the Guru, a wise person, or a saint will help calm emotional restlessness.

The fifth type of restlessness is rare. It is the restlessness of the Soul. When everything feels empty and meaningless, know you are very fortunate. Do not try to get rid of it. Embrace it! This restlessness of the Soul can bring authentic prayer in you. It brings perfection, Siddhis and miracles in life. It is so precious to get that innermost longing for the Divine. Satsang and the presence of enlightened ones, soothe the restlessness of the Soul. Do not look for the Divine somewhere in the sky. See God in every pair of eyes, in the mountains, water, trees and animals. How? Only when you see God in yourself. Only Gods can worship Gods.

Heightened awareness brings you close to the reality. And for this, you have to increase your prana. This can be done through: 1. Fasting and eating fresh food 2. Pranayamas, Sudarshan Kriya, and meditation 3. Silence 4. Cold water baths 5. The right amount of sleep 6. Emotional contentment 7. Presence of the Master 8. Singing and chanting 9. Giving without Givership and service without Doership.

All of these together is Yagya. When you have reverence for the whole universe, you are in harmony with the whole universe. Then, you do not need to reject or renounce anything. When you have reverence in all your relationships, your own consciousness expands; Even small things appear to be significant and big. Every little creature appears dignified. It is the reverence in every relationship that saves the relationship. Cultivate the skill of having reverence for every moment in your life.

This entry was posted in Mind & Meditation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Types of Restlessness

  1. rajni says:

    Very nice !

Leave a Reply